Pourchaire remains at ART for third season in Formula 2 | Formula 2


Sauber junior driver Theo Pourchaire will remain at ART for a third consecutive season in Formula 2 in 2023, the team has confirmed.

The 19-year-old has raced in the last two seasons of the series with the French team, taking fifth place in the drivers’ standings in 2021 and taking the runner-up spot behind champion Felipe Drugovich last year.

Pourchaire, who is the first driver to be confirmed by ART for the upcoming season, said he “couldn’t be happier to extend my career in this top-level Formula 2 championship with ART Grand Prix, which has become a family to me.”

“We have had intense moments over the past three years and it’s important to prepare for the 2023 championship with a team that knows me and knows how to put me in the best possible situations. We may have lacked success last year, but we gained experience that makes us even stronger. I will do everything I can to bring the title to ART Grand Prix this season.”

Pourchaire has raced for ART since joining the team for his single season in FIA Formula 3 in 2020, taking the runner-up spot in the championship behind Oscar Piastri and graduating into F2 with the team the following year. He became F2’s youngest ever race winner in 2021 with his victory in the Monaco feature race and has topped the podium on four further occasions since.

He finished a distant runner-up to champion Felipe Drugovich last season. ART team manager Sebastian Phillippe said the team is aiming to win the championship with Pourchaire this year.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

“Theo will still be one of the youngest drivers on the grid, but he has acquired a technical and personal maturity which, combined with his speed and his combativeness, will be a major asset to be consistently at the front of the field and will help the team in its technical focus,” said Phillippe.

“Last season showed us how much every detail counts and after two seasons in Formula 2 with Theo, ART Grand Prix’s mission will be to master everything in our power to optimise our chances of winning the title in 2023.”

2023 Formula 2 driver line-up

Team Drivers
MP Dennis Hauger TBC
Carlin Enzo Fittipaldi Zane Maloney
ART Theo Pourchaire TBC
Prema Frederik Vesti Oliver Bearman
Hitech Jak Crawford Isack Hadjar
DAMS Ayumu Iwasa Arthur Leclerc
Virtuosi Jack Doohan Amaury Cordeel
PHM by Charouz Roy Nissany Brad Benavides
Trident Clement Novalak Roman Stanek
Van Amersfoort Richard Verschoor Juan Manuel Correa
Campos Ralph Boschung Kush Maini

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2

Browse all Formula 2 articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here