Six Formula 2 drivers among Red Bull’s 11-strong junior squad for 2023 | Formula 1


Red Bull has announced its full line-up of Formula 1 juniors for 2023 including six drivers who will race in Formula 2.

Dennis Hauger and Ayumu Iwasa remain in the series following their race-winning rookie campaigns last year. Jak Crawford and Isack Hadjar have been promoted together from FIA Formula 3 to race for Hitech GP.

Red Bull’s F2 sextet is completed by Enzo Fittipaldi and Zane Maloney, who have been added to the junior team and will be team mates at Carlin. Fittipaldi picked up six podiums as an F2 rookie in 2022 with Charouz Racing System, and now moves to a more competitive team, while Maloney was championship runner-up in FIA F3 with Trident and makes a full-time move up to F2 after making his debut in last year’s finale.

They join the Red Bull Junior Team as F2 race-winner Jehan Daruvala and F3 racer Jonny Edgar are dropped, and it means just three vacant seats remain on the F2 grid for 2023.

Sebastian Montoya, who was announced by Red Bull earlier this month, will be the brand’s only junior in F3 this year. The son of F1 race-winner Juan Pablo Montoya will drive for Hitech, who are running Red Bull juniors further down the single-seater ladder too.

Honda junior Souta Arao will drive for the team in Britain’s GB3 series Arvid Lindblad, currently one of Hitech’s drivers in Formula 4 United Arab Emirates, will switch to Prema for his European racing campaigns in the category.

Liam Lawson takes over the RBJT-sponsored seat in Super Formula, meaning Ren Sato has been shown the exit door Two other departures from Red Bull’s roster are Formula Regional racer Noel Leon and former Honda junior Yuto Nomura.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

The two youngest additions to the RBJT are Enzo Deligny and Enzo Tarnvanichkul, both stars of the international karting scene last year.

Deligny will step up to car racing with Campos Racing in Spanish F4, having been one of the top rookies in senior karting in 2022. The 14-year-old Frenchman was second in the WSK Euro Series and fourth in the CIK-FIA European championship.

Due to his age, 13-year-old Thai driver Tarnvanichkul will remain in karting and will compete for a factory-backed Kart Republic team. He was the CIK-FIA World Karting champion on OK-Junior karts in 2022, was the WSK Final Cup runner-up and fifth in the CIK-FIA European championship.

2023 Formula 2 driver line-up

Team Drivers
MP Dennis Hauger TBC
Carlin Enzo Fittipaldi Zane Maloney
Prema Frederik Vesti Oliver Bearman
Hitech Jak Crawford Isack Hadjar
DAMS Ayumu Iwasa Arthur Leclerc
Virtuosi Jack Doohan Amaury Cordeel
PHM by Charouz Roy Nissany Brad Benavides
Trident Clement Novalak Roman Stanek
Van Amersfoort Richard Verschoor Juan Manuel Correa
Campos Ralph Boschung Kush Maini

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2

Browse all Formula 2 articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here