Who are they all up against? The Formula 1 drivers of 2023 in stats | F1 statistics


How has the replacement of three drivers changed the complexion of the Formula 1 field this year?

The F1 drivers of 2023 span 15 countries and have over 50 motorsport championship titles between them. Here’s how they break down in numbers.


Two of Formula 1’s most experienced drivers bowed out at the end of last season – Sebastian Vettel was one race shy of his 300th start and Daniel Ricciardo was another member of the double century club. With three newcomers making their debuts as full-time drivers, the class of 2023 is slightly less experienced on the whole than last year’s field.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free


Unsurprisingly, it’s a slightly younger field as well, though not by much: The average age of the drivers at the season-opener will be 28.2 years, down just 0.2 from 12 months earlier.

This is partly because one of those three newcomers, Nyck de Vries, is already older than more than half the field, including the reigning two-times world champion. De Vries was passed over for promotion after winning the Formula 2 title four years ago, and Andretti IndyCar driver Colton Herta was AlphaTauri’s original choice for his seat, but he didn’t have enough superlicence points to move into F1.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Grand prix wins

Vettel is the third most-successful F1 driver of all time in terms of wins, and the departure of fellow multiple grand prix winner Ricciardo means the total number of races won by the current grid is well down on this time last year, dropping from 232 to 193.

However, factor in that George Russell and Carlos Sainz Jnr were yet to score their first victories before the start of last season, and the total number of race-winning drivers on the grid is unchanged. Half of the 20 drivers have already taken grand prix victories, though that pair plus Alpine’s new duo are all one-time winners.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free


Herta may not have got his break, but the United states of America still has its first full-time F1 driver in 16 years in the shape of Logan Sargeant. The USA is one of 15 different countries represented on the grid this year, only four of which have more than one driver. These are the UK (three), France, Spain and the Netherlands (two each).

Championships (all series)

Only two drivers in the 20-strong field haven’t won a championship above karting level and they both drive for the same team: Alexander Albon and his new Williams team mate Sargeant.

The other 18 drivers have amassed 54 titles between them across F1 and the junior categories of motorsport.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Driver Championship Year/s
Lewis Hamilton British Formula Renault 2003
Formula 3 Euroseries 2005
GP2 2006
Formula 1 2008, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Lando Norris British Formula 4 2015
Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 2016
Northern European Formula Renault 2016
Toyota Racing Series 2016
Formula 3 European Championship 2017
Fernando Alonso Euro Open by Nissan 1999
Formula 1 2005, 2006
World Endurance Championship 2018-19
Nico Hulkenberg German Formula BMW 2005
A1 Grand Prix 2007
Formula 3 Euroseries 2008
GP2 2009
Nyck de Vries Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup 2014
Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS 2014
Formula 2 2019
Formula E 2021
Valtteri Bottas Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup 2008
Formula Renault NEC 2008
GP3 2011
Lance Stroll Italian Formula 4 2014
Toyota Racing Series 2015
Formula 3 European Championship 2016
Oscar Piastri Formula Renault Eurocup 2019
Formula 3 2020
Formula 2 2021
George Russell BRDC British Formula 4 2014
GP3 2017
Formula 2 2018
Max Verstappen Formula 1 2021, 2022
Charles Leclerc GP3 2016
Formula 2 2017
Carlos Sainz Jnr Formula Renault NEC 2011
Formula Renault 3.5 2014
Pierre Gasly Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 2013
GP2 2016
Esteban Ocon Formula 3 European Championship 2014
GP3 2015
Kevin Magnussen Danish Formula Ford 2008
Formula Renault 3.5 2013
Sergio Perez British Formula 3 (National class) 2007
Zhou Guanyu Formula Regional Asia (Asian Formula 3) 2021
Yuki Tsunoda Japanese Formula 4 2018

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Days since last win (all series)

For the first time in a career replete with success, Lewis Hamilton goes into a new F1 season seeking to end a victory drought which has lasted more than a year.

Others have to look back further for their most recent wins at any level. Notably the Aston Martin duo, Lance Stroll and new team mate Fernando Alonso, who haven’t taken a win in a the 2020s. Indeed, Alonso will mark the 10th anniversary of his last win in F1 this May.

But returning driver Nico Hulkenberg who has the longest win-less drought. Like Alonso, his most recent triumph came at the Le Mans 24 Hours, in his case with Porsche.

Become a RaceFans Supporter

RaceFans is run thanks in part to the generous support of its readers. By contributing £1 per month or £12 per year (or the same in whichever currency you use) you can help cover the costs of creating, hosting and developing RaceFans today and in the future.

Become a RaceFans Supporter today and browse the site ad-free. Sign up or find out more via the links below:

2023 F1 season

Browse all 2023 F1 season articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here